GOUSA receives patent from Grand Orient de France

July 6, 2008 at 7:25 pm (Masonic) (, , , , )

On July 4, it was announced on the website of the Grand Orient of the United States of America (GOUSA) that

“The official Patent from the Grand Orient of France giving the Grand Orient of the United States of America legal Masonic authority to work in North America was signed in Paris on Friday, the 27th of June, 2008 at 9:15 AM ET. A Treaty of Amity was also signed between the two sovereign Masonic entities. A delegation of several GOUSA Brothers were present in Paris for this historic event.”

A beautiful, hand-drawn Patent was created for the event.

For details and updates, see the GOUSA website.

17 Comments

  1. Jeff Peace said,

    The Patent and Treaty are the result of the labors of many good brothers in both France and the United States. The organization that this has created will add diversity and strenth to American Masonry by offering a different ideological perspective of Freemasonry.

    The old argument of “my Masonry is better than yours” is too narrow and confining. As Freemasons we must grow and recognize that in diversity is the strength of our brotherhood and unity. We must begin to divorce ourselves from dogma and embrace the tolerance and liberality that defined our fraternity 300 years ago.

    Today we are given a golden opportunity by the Grand Orient of France. Once upon a time they gave us the Marguis de Lafayett and help in winning our independence from England. Next they gave us the Statue of Liberty. Today they have given us the opportunity to heal many old wounds and restore the global chain of union between all Masons. America owes much to France and our French borthers. Let’s use this opportunity to restore American Masonry and teach the virtues of liberality and tolerance to a new generation of American Freemasons.

    Jeff

  2. Stewart McGee said,

    Well Said Jeff! It is time to stop the fighting between the organizations, and ALL masons go off and become better at their craft. All this negative energy is furthers no-one’s cause.

  3. Brother Tom Coste said,

    It is a peaceful situation

  4. David Cooksey said,

    I wish you well.

  5. Jason said,

    I’ve been reading the forums at Tracingboard.com for about a month now, and discussing what I’ve been reading with some of my lodge brothers. At first I thought the GOUSA was Libertarian because they seemed to support Ron Paul, but the Tracingboard forum discusses human rights and environmentalism.

    To me the GOUSA is political and philosophical Masonry and I agree with many of the things they talk about. I thought Masonry would be like the GOUSA but it isn’t and I have obligated myself to something I don’t really agree with. I want to be true to my obligation but I also need to be true to myself. What can I do?

    I know I will be condemned by some of my brothers and I will get kicked out of some of the forums I post to, but I feel like I’m in a place where I don’t belong. Is there a way to leave my lodge with honor?

  6. Brother Sam Adams said,

    Bro Jason,
    The org you obligated yourself to lost their honour along time ago.
    Just demit out and look into your heart about what you want to accomplish with masonry and yourself.
    You must realize that the obigation you took is not valid once you realise that you have been duped.
    You were in the dark when they asked you to take your obligation.
    if your obligation interferes with your duty to your God, Country or yourself, you have an out!
    It takes strength and courage to understand that you are not bound to them.
    False advertisement is an escape clause.

  7. William Blake said,

    “I must create a system or be enslaved by another man’s!”

    we are not obligated slaves

  8. Blaise Pascal said,

    “All our dignity, then consists in thought. It is upon this that we must depend….
    let us labour, then, to think well: this is the foundation of morality”

    Not an keeping a bogus obligation!

  9. John Slifko said,

    Dear Jason:

    No, the GO USA does not support Ron Paul. It has a few members who support Ron Paul and they do not mind telling people! (grin) But we also have Obama supporters and McCain supporters, and Hillary supporters, and more. All the best to you in your moral reflecting. That is always a good place to be.

    Frat. John Slifko

  10. Scott Brumley said,

    Libertarian? Haha That’s the problem with the US these days. Too many labels. We are eager to be divided. I like to think we stand for what makes sense.

    Frat.

  11. Tony Melton said,

    Brother Jason,

    I know how you feel, I was there.

    Shakespeare offers some helpful insight in Hamlet –
    “To thine own self be true,
    And it must follow,
    As the night follows the day
    Thou can not then be false to any man.”

    I felt much as you do when I first considered leaving my mother lodge. But as time went by, I realized that I wasn’t attending lodge very often because there wasn’t much there for me. Now don’t get me wrong, the guy in the lodge were great friend and brother and I still hold them in high esteem, but the lodge wasn’t offering what I was looking for. That form of Masonry wasn’t the Masonry that I had signed up for.

    For me, staying with my old lodge meant not being true to myself and not being true to the brothers of my old lodge. I wasn’t being honest with them when I sat in lodge and gave my implicit consent and approval to their form of Masonry as the kind of Masonry that I sought. I wasn’t helping myself and I wasn’t helping them. They are free to practice their form of Masonry and I will always hold them as my brothers, but in the end, I saw that by participating in something that I didn’t believe was what it should be, I was doing more harm than good.

    Philosophically, that sounds great, but it doesn’t do you much good practically, does it? I don’t know much about your situation, so I can’t say much on the practical side of things, but I’ll say what I can. If you do leave, leave with dignity.

    Shortly before a business meeting, request quietly from the secretary whatever forms you need to demit from lodge. Fill them out and return them promptly. Don’t leave much time for rumors to spread; they are hard to stop once they start. Be honest with people; remember that they are your brothers. Confront the issue head on by telling people why you are leaving. Use the word I a lot and avoid saying you. Don’t tell them what they do wrong; simply tell them that you are other needs that you need to fulfill.

    If you leave, I think that many of them will understand and respect you for being upfront, honest, and honorable about it, but you will run into someone who will tear you down. They will most likely tear you down behind your back, so just ignore them, they don’t warrant a response anyway. If you do leave or if you stay, I wish you the best of luck.

    Your first obligations are to the Grand Architect of the Universe and to yourself. Those obligations were not taken on bended knee; they are etched on your heart. Those obligations must take precedence.

    Sincerely and Fraternally,

    Tony Melton
    Euclid Lodge #3, GOUSA

  12. azman said,

    Brothers CONGRATULATIONS and GOOD LUCK on your jouney….GAOTU guide us all always!!!

    sincerely and fraternally,
    bro lagalag
    Logia Andres Bonifacio # 2
    Gran Logi Nacional de Filipinas
    R.E.A y A

  13. Bro Tom Coste said,

    Brother Azman,
    Agreed! The GAOTU Does guide us all, not just certain journey men.
    The high, the low…. we are all members of the same family!
    May you and your Brothers work in Light

  14. Monteiro Lobato said,

    Well, it a very comfortable new.
    It a happy day for all the free- thinker Lodges of the Universe

  15. manciashign said,

    hello,

    the website has a absolutely outgoing theme. seems to be of a integrity designer. drive stopover your website again.

  16. nicodeme vyles said,

    hola je besain acheter un livre de mason de lafrance pour acheter on appele napoleon beaucoup feute j-aimerais savoir conbien sa coute s, il vout plait donnez..-moi une reponse tout suite.

  17. prior.ho.ua said,

    Всем Доброго дня! Заходьте на Продаж ремонт комп’ютерної та офісної техніки в місті Болехів

Leave a Reply

